AIA Resilience and Adaptation Instructors

As experts in hazard mitigation, climate adaptation, and community resilience, these instructors have guided, supported, and contributed expertise to the development of the AIA's Resilience and Adaptation Series.

Course 1: Resilience + AdaptationAn Introduction

Edward Laatsch, Director, Planning, Safety & Building Science Division FIMA Risk Management Directorate, FEMA

Steve Winkel, FAIA, PE, CASp, the Preview Group

Scott Davis, Principal, SGD Urban Solutions

Nancy McNabb, AIA, Principal, McNabb & Associates

Craig Fugate, former FEMA administrator (2009-2017)


Course 2: Hazards, Vulnerability, and Risk in the Built Environment

Scott Davis, Principal, SGD Urban Solutions

Allison Anderson, FAIA, LEED AP, unabridged Architecture

Jennifer Goldsmith-Grinspoon, Physical Scientist, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Nicholas B. Rajkovich, PhD, AIA, Assistant Professor, University at Buffalo



Course 3: Responding to Climate Change

Jessica Grannis, Adaptation Program Manager, Georgetown University Climate Center

Randall Behm, P.E., CFM, US Army Corps of Engineers

Doug Pierce, AIA, LEED Fellow, Perkins + Will

Ed Mazria, FAIA, Hon. FRAIC, founder and CEO, Architecture 2030


Course 4: Codes and Rating Systems for Resilience

Jon Siu, Principal Engineer and Building Official, City of Seattle, Dept. of Construction and Inspections

Steve Winkel, FAIA, PE, CASp, the Preview Group

Doug Pierce, AIA, LEED Fellow, Perkins + Will

Chuck Miccolis, Vice President, Commercial Lines, Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety

John Ingargiola, EI, CBO, CFM, Lead Physical Scientist, Building Science Branch, FEMA



Course 6: New Construction, Hazard Mitigation Strategies

Rose Geier Grant, AIA, Research Architect, State Farm Insurance

Anne Cope, PhD PE, Sr. VP, Research and Chief Engineer, IBHS


Course 7: Existing Buildings, Hazard Mitigation Retrofits

Daniel Bass, Architect, Building Science Branch, FEMA

Randall Behm, P.E., CFM, US Army Corps of Engineers

Janice Olshesky, AIA, President, Olshesky Design Group

Illya Azaroff, AIA, Founder, +Lab

With special thanks to the following expert contributers:


  • Leo Abruzzese
  • Aaron Allen
  • Ricardo Alvarez
  • Allison Anderson, FAIA
  • Illya Azaroff, AIA
  • Dr. Janice Barnes, AIA
  • Dan Bass
  • Randall Behm, PE, CFM
  • Greg Beste, AIA
  • John Blumthal, FAIA
  • Michael Bomba, Esq.
  • Aaron Bowman, AIA
  • Lindsay Brugger, AIA
  • Wendy Brunner
  • Stephen Cauffman
  • Mark Chambers
  • Leslie Chapman Henderson
  • Amy Chester
  • Ava Christie, AIA
  • Dr. Anne Cope, PE
  • Scott Davis
  • Betsy del Monte, FAIA
  • Scott Eddy, AIA
  • Deane Evans, FAIA
  • Kenneth Filarski, FAIA
  • Craig Fugate
  • Tom Fisher
  • Rose Grant, AIA
  • Kathleen Gordon, Assoc. AIA
  • Jennifer Goldsmith Grinspoon
  • Jim Graham, AIA
  • Jessica Grannis
  • Robert Harris, AIA
  • Dr. Michael Hill, Assoc. AIA
  • John Ingargiola, EI, CBO, CFM
  • Grace Kim, AIA
  • Ann Kosmal, FAIA
  • Edward Laatsch, PE
  • Sharon Lee
  • Michael Lingerfelt, FAIA
  • Stephen Luoni, Assoc. AIA
  • Mike Mariano, AIA
  • Dr. Forrest Masters, PE
  • Nancy McNabb, AIA
  • Chuck Miccolis
  • Rachel Minnery, FAIA
  • Janice Olshesky, AIA
  • Doug Pierce, AIA
  • Nicholas Rajkovich, AIA
  • Adam Reeder, PE, CFM
  • Martina Reilly, AIA
  • John Robinson, AIA
  • Zahraa Saiyed, Assoc. AIA
  • Bill Singer
  • Jon Siu, PE, SE
  • Dale Thomure, CBO, CFM
  • Dean Vlahos, FAIA
  • Steve Winkel, FAIA
  • Emily Zimmer, AIA