• home
  • chevron_right
  • Courses
  • chevron_right
  • Codes and Rating Systems for Resilience (Resilience Series Course 4)

Codes and Rating Systems for Resilience (Resilience Series Course 4)

Included in subscription Included in subscription
2.00 LU|HSW

Member Price


Non-member Price

Sign in to purchase chevron_right


Building codes are designed to protect people; and thus building to code may not provide the level of property protection your clients want. This in-depth course offers a solution. You’ll learn how to unpack the level of protection building codes offer so you can best identify—and design for—resilience gaps. Through case studies and expert interviews, you’ll review how recent advances are reducing vulnerability, including lessons learned from past disasters, stretch codes, and performance-based codes. You’ll also review the full scope and limitations of the building code and how codes address the impacts of potential hazards for any region. Finally, you’ll learn how rating systems can complement, reinforce, or extend the provisions of local codes.

This course is part of the AIA Resilience and Adaptation Series, a multi-course series that provides you with the tools and knowledge you need to design for resilience. Take all of the courses in this series to earn a certificate of completion.

Course expires on 10/31/2024

This course is sponsored by Owens Corning

Owens Corning logo

Learning Objectives


Explain the scope and intent of the building code and its limitations


Understand the purpose and application of “stretch” and “reach” codes


Discuss the role of land use planning and zoning, including form-based codes, in reducing (or enhancing) vulnerability


Identify current ICC code provisions that impact hazard mitigation design for water inundation, wind/storms, other climate-related hazards, geologic/seismic hazards, and combined hazards

Examine building rating systems that can be used as design tools for buildings to meet resilience goals

The AIA Resilience and Adaptation Online Series is developed by the AIA as part of the resilience and adaptation initiative.